Blog Post

What is a Ashtanga Yoga?

In Sanskrit, Ashtanga means eight-limbed (asta– eight, anga limb). Ashtanga Yoga is an eight-limbed path towards achieving the state of Yoga, also known as Samadhi. The definition of Ashtanga Yoga is found in the Yoga Sutras of Patañjali, an ancient text on the theory and practice of Yoga thought to have been compiled in about 200 CE by Sage Patañjali

Ashtanga yoga

The Yoga Sutras of Patañjali is comprised of 196 sutras- short philosophical statements – on the theory and practice of Yoga, divided into four books, or padas. The Yoga Sutras are so succinct and are therefore almost incomprehensible without commentary. The most definitive commentary is by Veda Vyasa; his commentary is known as the Yoga Bhasya.

The Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga?

  • Yamas
  • Niyamas
  • Āsana
  • Prāņāyāma
  • Pratyāhāra
  • Dhāraṇā
  • Dhyāna
  • Samādhi

Join 200 Hour Yoga Teacher Training In RIshikesh


Popular Posts

Our Classes